Guild Collapsing

I’ll take hard decisions that I will let weigh on me for much longer and harder than they are worth for $2000, Alex.

 

Long story short the guild is not going well.  Of the two-dozen or so players that said they would make the switch from WoW to WAR only about half of them have actually contacted me in game. Of those dozen only 5, including myself, are playing actively.  Of those 5 two have either quit the game or gone on to play on another server.

 

So it is down to me and two other people that I actually give a damn about and the 8-10 players that joined the guild within the past few weeks that are still haven’t left.  In short on any given night we may have 4-5 people on while I spend half of my playtime talking to potential recruits.  You could say things have not gone exactly according to plan.

 

Originally the guild was supposed to be a community of players coming over, not just from DM but from the WoW Azshara server.  I was somewhat of a popular and prominent player on the server and I (arrogantly) thought that the mere mention of me running a guild in WAR would attract another dozen or so players.  Unfortunately I ended up with exactly ONE player from the server not from DM so that strategy did not exactly pay off.

 

On one hand I want to get out before I get in too deeply.  It is clear that I don’t have it in me to ever lead one of those “zerg” recruitment guilds that will send a whisper to everyone not in a guild fishing for members.  But unfortunately with no global chat channels and no official forums this strategy would be the most efficient use of my time.  It does seem easier to recruit 50 players and then cut out the 30 D-bags than to spend 20-30 minutes talking to one player about the guild to see if they would be a good fit.

 

Oppositely I have never been one to back away from a challenge when it comes to persistence, organization, and leadership.  Giving up now would just be admitting defeat.  I did spend more than a year in T5-T6 content dragging people from Hydross to BT and Hyjal who really had no business or interest to ever stop farming Karazan. 

 

Added to the problem is the amount of fun I am having on my Iron Breaker.  I just find the class much more complex, and therefore more interesting, than my Chosen.  Of course the near instant scenario queues do help. 

 

The more that I think about it the more that I just want to say screw it and walk away.  Perhaps just set the guild message to something appropriate and take down the guild site and forums.

 

I cannot give you the formula for success, but I can give you the formula for failure: which is: Try to please everybody.

 

 

~ by Centuri on October 9, 2008.

 
