Wrath of the Lich King: 14 hours, 2 Levels

Worth the wait.  Amazing.  Stunning.  Completely enjoyable.  Jaw dropping.  Surprises around every turn.

Ask me to describe Wrath of the Lich King and these are the words that I would use.  Everything to the questing, lore, artwork, and NPC placement is just very well done.  The towns, camps and fortifications of Northrend are just absolutely amazing and a feast for the eyes after years of adventuring in Outland.

I could probably go into great detail but I want to just hit on a few high notes since I have some catch up work to do at my office after taking yesterday off to get my Shaman up to level 72.

As I stated questing in WotLK is just very well done.  There are so many spins on what would otherwise be normal Kill collector or gather 10 foozles.  Many of the gathering quests lead to interesting quests the likes of which have never been done in WoW before.  I have even had to do quests that required you to figure out a little puzzle to complete it.

Another high point is that they have finally decided to teach players how to move out of AOE from the start.  In the very first zone you encounter mobs that will use AOE against you that you have to move out of the way from.  Also the 5 man instance bosses have had similar raid quality moves requiring some group coordination.

I am really looking forward to this weekend and hopefully hitting 74 or 75 by Sunday night.  So far I have done all of Howling Fjord and must say that the 6 hours of questing that I completed in that zone was just a highly enjoyable experience.  I hit the zone at 5:30 AM server time and never had problems with Alliance (PVP server) or with competing for quest mobs.  By around 3:00 PM I had moved over to Borean Tundra and worked my way through the quests there until I hit 72 around 10:00 PM last night. 

I want to keep going and do all of the quests in the zone before I move onto Dragon Blight as they are just that enjoyable.  I constantly find myself stopping to watch some NPCs interact or read some interesting quest text. 

Wrath of the Lich King is a 10 out of 10 no questions asked.

~ by Centuri on November 14, 2008.

 
