Thank You Jerks of EVE

In my chosen real life profession I am faced with judgment calls to make on a daily basis that greatly impact the life and livelihood of a fellow human being.  Offering someone the bare minimum versus a nice padded settlement only costs me a bit of extra paperwork, but could potentially be life changing for that individual.  I do take my position and authority rather seriously, but often decisions really do come down to a 50/50 chance when you weigh and measure the available information on a claim. 

This is where the EVE pirate and scamming community provides amazing assistance in proper motivation.  Sometimes I feel sorry for the situations that people find themselves in, often is has nothing to do with the action or inactions of the agents of my clients.  But as we may be the closest entity with deep pockets, we carry the brunt of the legal action.  

When faced with these small bouts with my conscience, I find it helpful to read the Crime and Punishment forums for a bit and really brush up on my callousness.  An entire discussion medium entirely dedicated to bragging about how crappy you were to someone else or just how much fun you had raining on someone’s parade.  My eyes narrow, and my irritation with my fellow man reaches new heights.  

So I just wanted to say to all those folks, thanks for being such jerks.

~ by Centuri on October 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Thank You Jerks of EVE”

  1. Just wanted to say I was glad to come across this post. I couldn’t agree more.

  2. My wife works PR for a local transportation company, and it amazes her at how much people along various routes will complain and moan in order to try to get more and more money out of them. She’s learning the whole callousness thing too, which she’s never had to do before. I’m glad you’ve found the C&P forum to help you!

Comments are closed.

 
