The Virtual Gift

Somehow my wife managed to pull of a complete surprise birthday party for me over this past weekend.  My youngest brother, who had a short lived EVE career that basically centered on outfitting frigates and shooting at other players for a month or so, decided to go shopping online for some Isk for my birthday present.  No not a PLEX, actual ISK. 

It all started on Wednesday of last week when my wife seemed suddenly interested in my EVE character.  She came and sat in a chair and asked me what I was doing and I explained that I was stuck in an incestuous loop of Class 4 wormholes that only seem to link to other C4 and hoping and praying for a K162 ticket out of there.  She wanted to know what my character looked like and made a comment about how unattractive he was compared to my other characters in games like FFXI or the blood elf I rolled for her in WoW.  Apparently she was just confirming my main character’s name exact spelling. 

Fast forward to Saturday night and my youngest brother asked me if I had logged into EVE that day yet, oddly enough I had not.  Thinking that he had reactivated his account I pressed him for an explanation.  He then informed me of what he had done and I had the pleasure of explaining to my uncle, who interjected that he plays Farmville so he understands what we are talking about, and my grandmother that I spend a bit too much of my free time playing an extremely important game involving spaceships. 

When I got home later that evening I logged in and noticed my wallet had not yet grown.  He has texted me a few times to confirm delivery and I have never responded to him to let him know that it has never arrived.  On one hand, I don’t want him to just waste his money; I just really really wish he had sent me a PLEX or two instead of breaking various parts of the EULA and dragging me along with him. 

I had tried to explain to him about how Isk farmers ruin aspects of the game and drive actual players out of certain areas of game play.  His eyes turned a nice doe white as he clearly was not interested.  The concept of how Real Money Trade (RMT) affects the various online worlds is a completely foreign concept to outsiders.  

So now I wait…

~ by Centuri on June 14, 2010.

5 Responses to “The Virtual Gift”

  1. Hopefully he didn’t spend too much; they’ve gotten good at detecting stuff like that and pulling it from your wallet — if you ever get it in the first place.

    It’s the thought that counts, though, right?

  2. He says he spent $30. No idea what that converts to on the RMT market. From a PLEX I think it would be around 600 million if I am not mistaken.

  3. You may wish to contact EVE Support and do a pre-emptive explanation about the situation. Whats worse, losing a $30 gift or all your characters on your Account?

    I’d hate for anyone to lose their EVE Character, especially when it is due to a misunderstanding like this.

    Good Luck.
    Xikuan

  4. RMT dealers have a bad reputation for credit card account fraud. Please have your brother check his accounts, and make sure there has been no wallet shrinkage there.

  5. tsk tsk tsk Farmville vets.
    Amusing read

Comments are closed.

 
